L’enfant adopté | YÀZ

YÀZ is a French rapper adopted from Morocco; this is his song The Adopted Child which describes his journey which will be familiar to many of us. The video can be found on YouTube [ link ]; YÀZ also has an official page at MySpace [ link ]. Special thanks to “K-6714” for the help with translation.

L'enfant adopté—YÀZ

Je suis un enfant parmi tant d’autres qui a été privé de son passé

I am a child among many others deprived from his past

Grâce à Dieu je m’en sors bien, mon destin est déjà tracé

Thanks to God I came through okay my destiny is already traced out

J’ai mal, mon histoire est non classée

It’s painful; my history is unclassified

Je Le remercie, entre leurs mains, j’ai été placé, confié

I thank Him that in their hands I was placed, confided

Mais la vérité, pendant longtemps, on me l’a cachée

But the truth for too long was hidden from me

J’en ai le cœur glacé, l’envie de tout casser

And now my heart is frozen, I want to wreck it all

J’en ai même pété les plombs, perdu la raison

I even went crazy, lost all reason

Tout seul à la maison, dix millions de questions

All alone at home ten million questions

Et pas une seule réponse à l’horizon

And not a single response on the horizon

Heureusement il y a la religion

Happily I have my faith

Ça m’a évité le pire, ça m’a permis d’tenir

And thus avoided the worst, it allowed me to hang on

Je Te remercie du fond du cœur; je T’ai vu me soutenir

I thank You from the bottom of my heart; I saw how You supported me

J’suis à la recherche du bonheur,

I’m looking for good fortune

Chaque seconde, chaque minute se comptent

Every second every minute counts

J’suis à la recherche de la femme qui m’a mis au monde

I’m searching for the woman who brought me into the world

On a été séparé

We were separated

Je ressens un manque depuis l’hôpital

I feel a loss since I left the hospital

C’est pareil depuis qu’on nous a coupé le cordon ombilical

The same as when they cut the umbilical cord

 
Je suis un enfant parmi tant d’autres qui a été privé de son passé

I am a child among many others deprived from his past

Mon histoire est non classée

My history is unclassified

Mon cœur a sa raison mais mes raisons tu les ignores

My heart has its reason but my own reasons you are unaware of

J’en ai même perdu la raison

I’ve even lost my reason because of it

 
À présent je me rends compte, tout ça, jamais ça s’arrêtera

And now I realize that all of this will never end

Qui me réconforte dans ses bras quand je suis dans un sale état?

Who comforts me in their arms when I’m in a bad state?

Trop de tracas qui m’affaiblissent, j’en perds le moral

Too many worries that weaken me; I lose my morale

Mon père et ma mère sont pas mes parents véritables

My father and my mother are not my real parents

J’écris avec des larmes, j’ai le courage de le dire

I write with tears in my eyes I have the courage to admit it

Avant d’être bien, j’ai eu très mal, je peux pas rectifier le tir

Before I resolved myself to it I was in bad shape; I can’t change the hand I was dealt

J’espère aboutir à mes recherches pour mieux dormir

I hope to accomplish my research so that I can sleep better at night

Mon vécu m’a fait grandir

What I have lived has helped me mature

Ça n’empêche que j’admire leur geste profondément

All the same I admire profoundly their gest

Je les remercie fortement de mon parcours, chaque jour,

I thank them for my journey each day

Je frôle l’effondrement, moi j’ai les pieds sur terre

I come close to falling off the ledge, but now I’ve got my feet on the ground

Le visage de ma mère reste un mystère c’est clair

My mother’s face remains a mystery, this much is clear

Mais aujourd’hui j’ai de la chance, comme je suis en France

But today I am lucky that I am in France

Et qu’ils m’ont vu en hachepé, ont vu de près ma souffrance

And that they’ve seen me in the psych ward, they’ve seen my suffering

Je suis pas à plaindre; mes projets je veux les atteindre,

I am not one to complain, I want to succeed in my goals

Ma lueur d’espoir, y’a que la mort qui peut l’éteindre

This glimmer of hope only death will snuff it out

 
Je suis un enfant parmi tant d’autres qui a été privé de son passé

I am a child among many others deprived from his past

Mon histoire est non classée

My history is unclassified

Mon cœur a sa raison mais mes raisons tu les ignores

My heart has its reason but my own reasons you are unaware of

J’en ai même perdu la raison

I’ve even lost my reason because of it

 
Ouais, okay, le rap, pour moi, c’est important

Yeah, okay, the rap for me it’s important

Tout comme toi, ça m’a permis de me relever à certains moments

Just like you it has allowed me to rise above at certain times

Tous ces titres que je vais t’citer,

All these song titles I’m going to recite for you

Ça m’a aidé à garder la pêche

They helped me keep my spirits up

Et à combler ma solitude

And fill in my moments of solitude

L’enfant seul

The Only Child

Le combat continue

The Battle Continues

Laisse pas traîner ton fils

Don’t Leave Your Son Behind

Les princes de la ville

The Princes of the City

Je m’adapte

I Get By

Demain c’est loin

Tomorrow is Far Away

Génération sacrifiée

The Sacrificed Generation

Hein, tu te rappelles de tout ça?

Do you remember all that?

Et maintenant, il y a Y-À-Z “l’enfant adopté”

And now their is Y-to-Z: “The Adopted Child”

J’suis conscient qu’y a pire,

I know there are worse things

Alors je me suis adapté

And so I’ve gotten used to it

Tu vois ce que je veux dire ou pas?

Do you see what I mean?

C’est l’histoire d’un père et d’une femme courageuse

This is the story of a courageous man and woman

Il y a pas très longtemps la situation était orageuse

Not so long ago in a stormy situation

La musique m’a aidé à extérioriser et aujourd’hui, Hamdulillah

Music helps me work it all out and today: Thanks to God

 
Je suis un enfant parmi tant d’autres qui a été privé de son passé

I am a child among many others deprived from his past

Mon histoire est non classée

My history is unclassified

Mon cœur a sa raison mais mes raisons tu les ignores

My heart has its reason but my own reasons you are unaware of

J’en ai même perdu la raison

I’ve even lost my reason because of it….


J’aimerais bien entendre de tout(e) adopté(e) marocain(e) en France ou ailleurs, surtout ceux qui se sont revenu(e)s à l’Islam, pour un article actuellement en cours.

Me gustaría mucho escuchar de l@s adoptad@s marroquís, en Francia o en otros países, especialmente aquellos que han regresado al Islam, por un artículo en la actualidad.

I would be interested in hearing from any Moroccan adoptees from France or elsewhere, especially those who have returned to Islam, for an article I am currently working on.

About Daniel Drennan ElAwar

Adoptee, rematriated.
This entry was posted in Adoption resistance. Bookmark the permalink.

Your thoughts, comments, remarks, additions....

