Breeding Feral Children

Transracialeyes

A transracially, transnationally adoptive parent, upon reading my thoughts on the historical and social reasons we Korean adoptees were sent abroad for adoption, responded by telling me that in Australia (paraphrasing here) society has gone to hell because of single moms on welfare breeding feral children, and that maybe Korea just doesn’t want to follow that path.

When I reminded him that I was a single mom on welfare who is eternally grateful to my country and that I give back to society whenever possible, he responded that he was talking about society, not adoption

I’m just stunned, dumb-founded, dismayed, and incredulous about this on so many levels.   So my question is this:

What do adoptees feel should be the minimum acceptable standards for screening potential adoptive parents?

View original post

About Daniel Drennan ElAwar

Adoptee, rematriated.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.