Xenopatriotism

Transracialeyes

I was talking to “someone” from a chat 3-4 years ago, and he somehow stumbled across one of my blogs and decided to e-mail me about my adoption privilege and all the benefits associated with it (from an economic standpoint). I told him that “happiness” is merely subjective to the perspective of the person. He then followed up with this:

So how is your birth country better than your adoptive country, exactly?

I don’t know what it is that attracts you to Chinese people, but I will assume that you only like them because they seem mysterious to you, in a “noble savage” kind of way.

I believe the proper scientific term for your condition is “xenopatriotism” – that is, being patriotic towards a country that you’re not really from, in any cultural sense.

Disregarding the stereotype and prejudice with the term “noble savage”, what do you think?

View original post

About Daniel Drennan ElAwar

Adoptee, rematriated.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.