DNA ‘R’ Us™ IV

The last few days have been a bit of a rollercoaster.

Based on initial DNA results, and further database research, I now know more about myself than I ever did previously.

I am solidly (95%) “of” this place.

I have a sense of the community/sect I am also “of”.

(For now this remains in the singular, though it may be subject to change.)

In any case, things have narrowed down in no small fashion.

And my gut instinct was not so far off after all.

Out of respect and privacy, I won’t be discussing the evolving “story” publicly without the consent of all involved.

Suffice it to say, my head is reeling.

I’ve sent off messages to my cousin matches at 23andMe.

So far, no one has replied.

This is perhaps understandable.

After all, I remain a stranger.

The one estranged.

It is, all the same, excruciating.

Although I’ve already waited so very long.

In no way did I expect my DNA to divulge so much.

This brings about a new phase.

And marks a huge turning point.

All adoptees should consider such testing.

It is empowering in a major way.

It may be what breaks through the mirror divide.

It can be the defining aspect of understanding our razor’s edge.

If successful, it can end all doubt.

I see it now as The Great Adoptee End-Run.

The breaker of secrets.

The opener of dialogue.

The end of the gossamer narrative.

The debut of knowing.

inch’allah khayr—God’s good grace willing.

About Daniel Drennan ElAwar

Adoptee, rematriated.
This entry was posted in DNA and Adoption and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DNA ‘R’ Us™ IV

  1. Marion says:

    ((((((((((((Tartan Hugs Daniel)))))))))))

  2. anenomekym says:

    Virtual hugs from way afar (and near too).

  3. Mirren says:

    I am thrilled for you. I know these steps from my own DNA match. It is heady and wonderful and scary and requires such restraint and leg work. At the same time, the abyss of not knowing is closing fast. It is an incredible amount of energy–physical and emotional–to process.

    I love you and send all my best wishes for your continued journey.

  4. jmarie says:

    This is great news.

    I m so happy for you!

    Adoption secrecy may soon become obsolete. It’s encouraging.

  5. Suz Bednarz says:

    Hello Daniel.

    Just a quick note to tell you I also did 23andMe (of course, as you know, I am not an adoptee) and in my experience it takes some time for people to answer. I think some do it, forget, etc. I, on the other hand, check regularly, answer requests for information. I suspect those of us who have lost a part of ourselves are a bit more anxious/proactive than regular bio folks that have not experienced adoption. I have been hoping to find my fathers family (father was born out of wedlock when his bio father was in a concentration camp in France in 1941).

    Best to you on your continued journey.

    • Hi Suz! Nice to see you here. Thanks for the note, I appreciate it. I think you are right. My impatience was palpable. And I canceled invitations out of panic…. But then a “cousin” replied to an email outside of 23andMe (I had this fear that people might not even be checking the site) and since then a few others have replied. There’s more research that this points to, but right now I’m happy with the sense of grounding and place it has afforded me….

      I hope your journey as well will find some sense of resolution….did you upload data to GEDMatch at all?

Your thoughts, comments, remarks, additions....

